Submit a Review
Course or cruise type
Number of Stars:
Tell us what you thought, you can tell us who you are if you want.

15 November 2017Competent Crew
Thank you Richard and Petra, I had a wonderful time on the Celtic Star. This is a great practical introduction to crewing a yacht. Food and drink were excellent and accommodation was comfortable. It is a tiring week but it has left me with a great sense of achievement. Martin Jon Wright
14 November 2017Competent Crew
Top week learning every aspect of the basics. Felt I'd been away for weeks, we learnt so much. Great teachers and hosts in Richard and Petra.. If you don't know one end of a yacht from the other but want to become confident, knowledgeable and capable of becoming a mariner, this is the course the get you started and these are the guys you want to do it with... And as for the food - What Richard can do with a 3 ring hob and swinging oven is beyond compare. I'll be back for day skipper in the New Year (if they'll have me) :) Nigel Bailey
21 October 2017canaries cruise
Great winter break in the warm waters of the Canary Islands, visiting three islands - Tenerife, La Palma and La Gomera. Richard and Petra were amazing hosts as usual and the meals were exceptional. We saw pilot whales, three different species of dolphin, tuna and a wealth of birds. Looking forward to booking the next cruise, Stephen and Norah.
17 October 2017Canaries Cruise
I really appreciated the thought that had been put into planning this cruise - a quick transfer by taxi from the airport and the opportunity to visit three different islands in a week. Having the opportunity to have a whole day ashore to explore the island of La Palma was a real treat. A group of us hired a car and explored the northern half of the island. The food was exceptional and it's hard to pick a favourite meal. We had a couple of meals ashore which were great but not quite as good as Richard's cooking. The company was convivial, Richard and Petra great hosts, we saw a wealth of wildlife (including pilot whales and almost daily dolphins) and got some good sailing in - what more could you ask for?
13 October 2017Celtic Cruising on Tour - Canaries Cruise
A really tremendous cruise in warm waters. Sightings of dolphins and whales a daily occurrence. Even a turtle in mid-ocean and ospreys at a small anchorage. The same superb catering and hospitality that we get on Celtic Star, despite that it was a Charter Yacht where Richard didn't have his normal galley. No small accomplishment. We were amazed. Isla & Ian Jenkinson.
2 October 2017Yachtmaster Prep Course
16th - 22nd September 2017. We would like to thank Petra and Richard for a successful and very pleasant yachtmaster preparation course. They create the perfect environment for learning. We benefited greatly from their outstanding teaching skills and unique dedication. They surprised us with their generous hospitality and delicious food. We are happy to recommend Celtic Cruising to all who appreciate the special service they provide; they are a great team. Werner, Hansruedi and Richard from Switzerland
16 September 2017Competent Crew
5th-10th September, 2017. We would like to state that if you are looking to book a course somewhere else then please wait and book it with Richard and Petra on Celtic Star. Firstly, the instruction you'll receive is second to none. We felt that we were put under just the right amount of pressure to learn so much in just five days. We are absolutely confident that we have had our money's worth several times over. We had such a magnificent week. If you would like to be taught by a YachtMaster with over 50 years of worldwide experience on various yachts then look no further. We were overwhelmed by the knowledge that continued to pour out of both Richard and Petra literally all day long. We were kept fed and watered regularly with very high quality and locally sourced fresh food. Dinner's were absolutely lovely. I remember looking down at my plate each evening thinking I'd have to be in an expensive restaurant to eat this way and certainly didn't expect this fine treatment, including fine wines, on a 46 foot sailing yacht. We started the course with very little knowledge and now feel that we are ready to consolidate our skills on perhaps a mile builder or a skippered flotilla holiday. After a while we intend to purchase our own yacht to live aboard and sail the world in slow time. We will never forget this wonderful experience. It was such a privilege to be in the company of Richard and Petra. We felt part of a team and made some wonderful friends. Jon and Angie, Shardlow, Derbyshire.
11 September 2017Competent Crew
Sept 5th to 10th 2017. Rob and I have just successfully completed our Competent Crew qualification with Richard and Petra Haig. A fantastic 5 days that were well structured and explained each morning so that the crew knew what to expect. Instructions and guidance provided by Richard and Petra were clear and repeated as often as needed to ensure effective learning. The experience was challenging but fun and Rob and I felt a satisfying sense of accomplishment at the end of the 5 days. All of this excellent and expert instruction was topped off by 5 days worth of amazing food, all locally sourced and expertly cooked and complemented by some carefully chosen and delicious wines. The other crew members were also great fun and I have a strong feeling we will all stay in touch. If you want to learn to sail or add to your qualifications, them Celtic Cruising is the school to sign up with. Amazing experience. Thank you Richard and Petra. Sue and Rob
10 September 2017Day Skipper
September 5 to 10, 2017. I have just completed my RYA Day Skipper practical course with Richard and Petra Haig. I had a goal of achieving this qualification in 2017 and with the expert help of Celtic Cruising I have achieved my goal. The Celtic Star is a great boat that provides comfort and safety. Richard in addition to being a great sailing instructor is an excellent chief and the food is really outstanding. Petra is a wonderfully patient instructor and her ability to explain things in easy to understand terminology is fantastic. I have thoroughly enjoyed my time with Celtic Cruising and cannot recommend them highly enough. If you want to learn to sail or to obtain RYA certifications Celtic Cruising is the school you should go to. Laurence
15 August 2017Cruise Oban-Glasgow
My daughter and I booked the cruise for her 16th birthday. We were hoping for a special holiday and this was it! We hope to return next summer. I cannot recommend Richard and Petra's Celtic Crusing more highly! Expect delicious food, camaraderie, wonder and good fun. Karen and Flora
10 August 2017Cruise Oban - Glasgow
Well the review below says it all, this was obviously the return journey but just to add this is the third time with Richard and Petra and certainly not the last. Thank you both for another fantastic venture. Alan B
2 August 2017Cruise Glasgow - Oban
Richard and Petra gave us a splendid cruise through the Inner Hebrides including the Crinan Canal. We visited castles, a few distilleries and saw bags of wild-life and they were as knowledgable about that as they were expert with their very well-found and comfortable boat. Add the gourmet dinners provided by Richard each night together with good company and you have a great week - thank you both. Mike
29 June 2017Irish Sea Mile builder
This is the second time that I have sailed with Richard and as before I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Although this was not a training course, Richard is always ready to share his considerable knowledge and experience and provide help and guidance when required. As a bonus, Richard is an excellent host, serving wonderful food and wine at the end of the day. Many thanks again, Alan R
28 June 2017Mileage Builder
June 22 to June 26, 2017 If you expect your Skipper/Instructor to be knowledgeable, well experienced, safety conscious for the boat and crew, and be someone who pays attention to the small details to get the best out of the Crew/Students then sign up here. Richard has all those qualities and as a bonus you sail with a first class Chef whose service on board is impeccable. Alex B.
20 June 2017Competent Crew
June 14 to 18 (2017) Competent Crew course. I was a novice when I joined the course and have a goal of achieving Day Skipper this year. Competent Crew was the first step which with Richard´s expert guidance and training I achieved. There were a total of 5 on board including Richard who is an excellent instructor and host. Safety is always first and the safety induction was detailed and complete. Under way Richard always had a watchful eye over each person on the course, his knowledge and experience are resources that must be tapped while on the course and he ensured that learning was hands on and fun. Richard is also a trained chief and the food he prepared on the boat was most enjoyable. I left the course with a competent crew certificate and I am now able to sail a boat. I have booked the Day Skipper course for September (2017) as in my opinion this is the place to learn to sail.
2 June 2017Irish Sea Mile builder
Richard and Petra are great teachers and brilliant Chefs. The Celtic star is very well maintained and very comfortably equipped for cruising and training. Richard is fastidious on safety which is vital for anybody learning to sail. Highly recommended for novice and experienced sailors alike. A great package. I will be back. David C
24 May 2017Day Skipper
Great Company. Food and drink we're excellent. Some of the best food that I have tasted. There is nowhere better to cruise than Anglesey. Seals, porpoise and puffins.... just to name a few of the species spotted. Marinas and coastlines are stunning. Restaurants and pubs are good. Lastly Richard keeps you on your toes, as far as sailing is concerned, whilst Petra is very kind natured.
23 May 2017refresher
Refresher course was thorough and informative. The Cooking was an unexpected nice suprise. Thanks Richard take care Johnny.
12 May 2017Competent Crew
I've just returned from a fantastic five days aboard the Celtic Star with Richard and Petra, during which I completed my competent crew course. Previous reviews have already covered Richard's cooking (which is excellent) so I thought it better to comment on the course itself. It's difficult to balance the required amount of learning and coursework, whilst ensuring people still enjoy the actual sailing. It's fair to say that Richard and Petra did this with consummate ease. At all times I felt I was benefiting from their considerable expertise, whilst also enjoying sailing around some of the finest scenery our waters have to offer. I would wholeheartedly recommend anyone who is thinking of learning to sail, to give Richard and Petra a call and have a chat. Thanks again for a fantastic and truly memorable time. Regards, Mark.
28 April 2017Competent crew course
Ive just completed my competent crew course with Richard. He's extremely experienced and ensured everyone on the course learned both the practical and theoretical aspects of sailing. He's also a great cook and host
27 April 2017Competent Crew
I have just completed my competent crew onboard Celtic Star and anybody who is thinking of taking up sailing then don't hesitate to contact Richard as his skippering skills and training course / holiday is second to none. The food onboard is exceptional and the yacht is fantastic. Had a great time and I cannot speak highly enough of the fulfilling experience it's a must do adventure for anyone interested in sailing. I am returning in June for my Day Skipper course. Bill
27 April 2017Day Skipper
I have just completed my RYA Day Skipper with Richard having attended the RYA Competent Crew in October 2016. If you want to learn to sail this is the place to start. Richard will make your stay onboard an enjoyable learning experience. I will certainly be booking some mile builders for later in the year. Thanks for a great week. Edward
24 April 2017Competent Crew
An excellent trip with Richard and Petra aboard Celtic Cruising around Anglesey. The teaching was thorough and very supportive giving everyone the opportunity to achieve their goals. Besides the sailing the food was amazing and I still can’t believed that it was prepared in the galley rather than an expensive restaurant, especially after a full day of sailing; not to mention the selections of wines to accompany the three course meals. The accommodation aboard was very comfortable and the trip was made all the more enjoyable with a good bunch of crew mates who I met on the trip. I would not hesitate to recommend Celtic Cruising. Thanks, Andy.
18 April 2017Day Skipper
Gadewch y mochyn yn canu!! What more can we say - the pig would truly sing in proud Welsh about everything from the instruction to the local knowledge to the food to the scenery to the facilities - it was all first rate! We couldn't ask for more. If you are looking for the Day Skipper practical course then look no further. Thanks for everything. Mary & Sean.
17 April 2017Day skipper
This may not mean much to any of you reading these reviews but 'Diolch yn fawr Richard am wythnos wych ar fwrdd Celtic Star. dyfroedd a golygfeydd prydferth Cymru, pa ran gorgeuos o'r byd!' As well as being a very good instructor, with excellent knowledge, patience and guidance, Richard is fluent in Welsh and he explained the meaning and the history of all the place names that we visited or passed on our route, which was both interesting and beautiful. He will also try and teach you a few words and phrases along the way. With regards to the sailing (which lets face it is why you will be looking at this), Richard will immediately set you at ease and help you through the course with excellent tuition and patience. He ensured that all the crew understood what was being asked of them and if someone didn't quite get it he would help them through the process until they understood. The waters that you sail in around Anglesey are a challenge but you will be guided through every step by a reassuring, and very experienced skipper. Also the scenery itself is stunningly! I know it has been mentioned in other reviews, so I run the risk of repeating a lot of what has already been said, but the food that Richard prepares every day is gorgeous, all locally sourced and cooked to perfection. Our crew did try to get some of the recipes out of him but he remained tight lipped, suffice it to say, the dining experience was akin to a high quality restaurant and not what you would expect when cooking on board a yacht. It is clear that the preparation that goes into each and every trip is very detailed. Together, Richard and Petra made an excellent team and made sure that everyone on board got the most they possibly could out of the course. Thank you for everything and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Celtic Cruising to anyone who is considering taking the Day Skipper Practical. Sean & Jo
10 April 2017Day Skipper
Richard and Petra are extremely knowledgeable about sailing (and wildlife) and Richard’s food is delicious but the other star is Celtic Star! The boat is comfortable, sails extremely well, is very well equipped and is superbly well maintained! It was a trip to savour and remember. Thanks to you and the rest of the crew for your support and help.
5 April 2017Day Skipper
Amazing! Brutally honest feedback made my experience for learning all the more memorable! Was not expecting the superb quality of food, (but be sure to state dietary requirements before boarding. I did not, and Richard went out of his way to resolve this! Thank you!)Scenery was beautiful, with a lot of history and knowledge of the area pointed out along the way from Petra! All in all a perfect trip, a huge learning curve in a short amount of time, and I would highly recommend Celtic Cruising to any up and coming sailor, or those looking to further their skills! Ric W
13 November 2016Day skipper
First time out with Richard great teacher great food and cabins all top class . Had a great 5days sailing and have gained lots of knowledge will be back next year for more . Mike H
27 October 2016Day Skipper
A fantastic 5 days on board Celtic Star for our Day Skipper Course. Richard's knowledge and experience are tremendous and his relaxed teaching style (but with honest feedback when required!) meant we all felt supported and fairly assessed over the course of the week. I'll definitely be back to do my Coastal Skipper once I've got a few miles under my belt. Chris L
13 October 2016Coastal skipper
I Was looking for a mile builder and insight into coastal practical having just done day skipper practical. Teaching was excellent ,food was better ,most of Beaufort scale experienced and don't forget the Dolphins ! Fantastic experience and confidence builder Nick
3 October 2016Passage to Ireland
An excellent trip on a comfortable boat. Richard's cooking is superb and he brings out the best in the guests so that a good time is had by all. Thank you for a great trip. See you soon. Pete
11 September 2016Day Skipper
My boyfriend and I have just completed our Day Skipper with the help of Richard and his fantastic teaching. We had such a fun 5 days, filled with endless practical and theoretical lessons and instructions which was exactly what we needed to build up our confidence and consolidate what we'd previously learned. Celtic Star is a fab yacht to learn on (and a pleasure to stay on!!), Richard's cooking is absolutely wicked, I'm sure we'll see him on Masterchef soon enough - we miss the wonderful food and wine already. Essentially, we have come away feeling confident with our sailing, had a great laugh with great people, explored beautiful bits of the coast around Conwy, and eaten enough good food to sink the boat we were lucky enough to sail. Cheers Richard, see you next time! Briseis and Sam
6 September 2016Competent Crew
I have recently been on the 5 day competent crew course and can not recommend it highly enough. It was a perfect first step towards our goal of flotilla holidays. I went with my 16 year old son and we learnt a huge amnount. Great boat, great food, great tuition and a brilliant time was had by all. Thanks so much Richard and Petra. Pete and Stephen from Lancashire.
22 August 2016Scilly Isles Cruise
The cruise was great, even though the weather wasn't. However nothing was lost because Richard & Petra always had a 'plan B' for those times when the weather was less than pleasant. I have sailed with Richard several times and, as always, the food & wine were exceptional. Thanks very much for a great holiday. Ian
28 July 2016Holiday Cruise Oban to Greenock
Had a wonderful time on Celtic Star, Richard is great! Couldn't ask for a better Skipper, plus he is an excellent Chef the food was fantastic every night with specially chosen wines for each meal. We visited distilliaries on Jura, Arran and in Campbeltown, had a great time and of course we bought a bottle at each one! Saw lots of wildlife, including Seals and Porpoises. With the guidance of Richard and Petra gained some experience of sailing a large yacht around the Scottish Islands all of which proved to be amazing places to visit and not to be missed. Will definitely be looking to book again for next year. We would like to say thank you to Richard and Petra.
27 July 2016Mile Builder June 2016
This was the second trip I have taken with Richard on the Celtic Star, travelling from Deganwy to Dublin this time on a milebuilder trip. The tuition has been great and the food has always been fantastic with good wines to accompany. Looking forwrd to the next course next year. Thanks again. Andrew
13 July 2016Deganwy to the Clyde
Another superb week of adventure with challenging conditions, good sailing, excellent food, and great company. This was my fourth cruise with Richard, but still found that I picked up so much more knowledge, improving my sailing skills, navigating through beautiful seascapes and choosing good wines. Many thanks! Stevie
30 June 2016Isle of man TT week
First time on a yacht, Richard and Petra made us feel so welcome, the food was as amazing as we had read about and the rest of the crew were such fun we had such a brilliant time have booked again for next year! Steve and Norah
24 June 2016Coastal Skipper - 17th - 22nd June
I attended the recent course largely as a refresher - having completed this qualification a couple of years ago. As always - I learned a huge amount over the week - in addition to remembering all the things I'd forgotten! Richard is a no nonsense teacher with wealth of experience to share - you couldn't be in better hands. In addition, we ate like Royalty for the whole trip and returned to Wales sated and also educated on the wide range of animal and bird life off the British Coast. I'd thoroughly recommend Celtic Cruising to all who want to progress their sailing skills and have an entertaining experience. Chris from Cambridge
23 June 2016Isle of Man TT Week
Once again, another excellent week aboard Celtic Star. Excellent food ( and wine ) plus the odd couple of pints, shared with an fun crew. With the added bonus of our very own TT tour guide in Steve of Felinheli. See ya next time. Looking forward to it already. Put the 6X in the fridge skipper !
22 June 2016Coastal Skipper
I'm just back on land after a really exciting and very full 5 days sailing the Irish Sea for RYA Coastal Skipper. Richard's approach to teaching is both entertaining and comprehensive and I feel I've gained a lot in confidence and knowledge over a short period, with all the theory now making a lot more sense. And that's before you count all the really amazing food (and I mean by any standards!), the careful attention to detail (nice duvets, no sleeping bags etc etc), and the endless stream of enthusiastic snippets of information about local widlife, language and folklore. So, Snowdonia Sailing School gets my vote! Highly recommended... (and I've tried several others). Best wishes, David from Dublin
10 June 2016RYA Competent Crew
Thank you for 5 days very enjoyable sailing with good company and excellent hosts. Richard is a brilliant teacher and a first class chef. As an added bonus, we were very fortunate to have Petra along for part of the time- Oh; and the sun was shining.
26 May 20164 day Ireland mile builder
Spent 4 days with Richard and 4 really nice guys sailing to Hollyhead then Dublin. It was absolutely excellent and I have no hesitation in recommending it. Excellent food by Richard, a brilliant host. Although weather was varied I always felt safe and had total confidence in Richard as a skipper. Thank you. I am learning to sail a yacht and will do all of my training with Richard - first class teacher, chef and yacht!
5 May 2016Cruising Instructor Training
Just a quick note to say thanks to Richard for an excellent training course. The instruction, course content and knowledge gained was the best I have received throughout my sailing training over the last 10 years. Celtic Star is a well found and comfortable yacht and the meals were all freshly prepared and cooked on board. A great week and I hope I can emulate Richard's training standards as I embark on my own career (but I might struggle on the cooking side of things!!)
2 May 2016RYA Comp Crew
Ive just finished my Competent crew with Richard on the Celtic Star. The experience along with the food and tuition was first class! I couldn't recommend it enough, 5 Star. Thanks for a great week!!!!
26 April 2016Cruising Instructor Course
Having just returned from completing a 5 day course with our skipper, Richard, I felt I had to leave a few comments here. Firstly the area - the north coast of Wales was a real treat. Having spent most of my sailing time on the West Coast of Scotland, I was going to be a hard client to impress, but impressed I was. Stunning views and challenging sailing. Secondly, the level of training and instruction was second to none - students of any level will come away from here better sailors. Thirdly and finally, life aboard Celtic Star is unlike any sailing school I have experienced. The boat itself is exceptionally well maintained, she is spacious and comfortable and of course the quality of the food and wine that Richard serves up is superb.
16 April 2016Competent Crew and Start Yachting.
I decided to tag long with the family at the last minute. I was not at all confident on a boat, never mind competent and just wanted to learn how to tie a few knots, enjoy Richard's legendary cooking and understand some sailing terminology. After three days sailing the beautiful Welsh coast and enjoying Richard's fascinating commentary on birdlife, history and the geography of the area, I am now very excited about returning to the seas again soon. Richard made us all feel so welcome on board his beautiful yacht and above all, I felt extremely safe. I learnt so much in three days . The beautiful dawn over the Menai Straits; sailing round the tip of Anglesey in the sunshine and enjoying Richard's delicious meals were highlights. Many thanks, Ruth , Damian Alice and George.
11th April 2016Start Yachting Weekend
Did my Introduction to Sailing course here and it was phenomenal. The quality of instruction is the best I've experienced and the food was pretty much 5 star restaurant food - some of the nicest I've had on or off shore. I went into it very nervous and unsure of what to expect and came out excited to carry on training and sailing. Both Richard and Petra were patient and encouraging and I very much recommend - to the point that I'm writing this review which I rarely do.
31 March 2016Easter cruise and Coastal Skipper
I have sailed with Richard a number of times over the last few years. Although I have been sailing large yachts for the last thirty years I always pick up new skills and knowledge when I sail on Celtic Star. This year was no different, even though I went along just to enjoy the sailing, we experienced some wonderfully challenging sailing with superb food and good company. When I say this year was no different, possibly I should mention the new 2016 menu and wine list, the hospitality on-board really does go from strength to strength. I am looking forwards to being back on-board in a few weeks time to take my Cruising Instructor course and exam with Celtic Cruising.
25 September 2015Day Skipper
It was nice to sail with Richard again after a 5 year absence. The tuition was very good as we expected. However, the catering far exceeded our expectations ! We couldn't wait to sit down to our dinner each evening, the food along with the carefully selected wines was really 1st class. The weather was really good and the crew were good fun to be with. Thanks to all concerned. Charlie & Anne.
24 September 2015Anglsey Coast Trip
Unlike most who have written reviews, I was not on a course but a holiday. I had 5 days of exploring the coast of Anglesey,a perfect balance of journeying and visiting interesting places. Food,was fabulous. Fully recommend this to anyone who likes an active holiday.Thanks also to the rest of the crew for their big part in creating a superb sailing and social experience.John
17 August 2015competent crew
We had such an enjoyable 3 days with Richard on the yacht. Not only did we learn valuable skills such as how to confidently sail and drive the rib, but we also enjoyed his delicious cooking and were fortunate to experience great weather and a lovely night of star gazing. Can't wait for the next two days of the course and will definitely want to come back for a third trip! Thanks so much for a great course and great fun, Alice and George :)
27 July 2015Inner Hebrides Cruise
Sailing the Inner Hebrides, from island to island and distillery to distillery, in the extremely capable and experienced hands of 'Cap'n Richard', was a wonderful experience for this novice sailor and veteran whisky enthusiast. Superb scenery and wildlife, together with Richard's stunning cooking, rounded off a memorable cruise. Thanks a lot. I hope to join you again soon. Dave.
26 July 2015Inner Hebrides Cruise
My first trip with Richard, and I certainly hope it won't be the last. Great skipper and I ran out of superlatives for the food, not to mention the great wines to go with it. The crew all got on really well and we could do as much or as little as we wanted. The distilleries were really interesting, as well as tasty,and the scenery and wildlife were fantastic. Towards the end of the week the weather became somewhat challenging which added to the excitement, but never once was I less than 100% confident in the yacht and the skipper. I was sorry to be going home. Christine
15 July 2015Inner Hebrides Cruise
This was my 4th trip with Richard. I think I would hesitate to sail with anyone else - he is very knowledgable, about sailing, whales, Wales, marine wildlife in general, whisky, and, as others have commented, he is a brilliant cook. It was a brilliant cruise, we saw lots of wildlife, made new friends, and drank whisky before lunch. that may possibly be a first for me. The weather wasn't as good as last year. please do better, Richard . Naomi
13 July 2015Inner Hebrides Cruise
Unlike most who have written reviews, we were not on a course but a holiday. We had a week of exploring the islands off the West Coast of Scotland, a perfect balance of journeying and visiting interesting places. Richard's knowledge of the area ensured we were at the right places at the right time - for example, Staffa for Fingal's cave and Lunga to see the Puffins were both visited in the evening when the "tourists" had left. We had both magical places to ourselves. His expertise and good humour were evident throughout the week even after a 16 hour day, just don't mess with his morning coffee! Food, as everyone else has commented, fabulous. Fully recommend this to anyone who likes an active holiday. Looking forward to the Scilly Isles next year. Hazel
13 July 2015Coastal skipper
A great sailing experience with excellent tuition and with the added bonus of superb food and wine at every meal, as well as an informed insight into ocean flora and fauna and local history. I have no hesitation in recommending Richard, Petra and their Yacht Celtic Star to people wishing to take their personal sailing skills to a higher level and to those who wish to experience cruising in a beautiful, well kitted out and perfectly maintained 46 foot yacht. Thanks also to the rest of the crew for their big part in creating a superb sailing and social experience. Nigel Smith
28 June 2015Competent Crew
Great 5 days on the competent crew course with Richard. There's nothing I don't know about knots now - of the nautical variety! With the Wind in our faces we navigated the Anglesey coastline and were lucky enough to spot porpoise and seals, terns, cormorants and puffins. We mixed with the locals in the many wonderful old pubs and ate royally on the yacht later in the evening. Thank you for looking after us with such interest.
22 June 2015Start Yachting
Just had one of the best weekends ever, with Richard at Celtic Cruising. This was brought for me as a birthday present from my amazing wife, and along with my three friends, none of us had ever sailed, we spent the entire weekend on board their beautiful yacht which is a 14m Beneteau Oceanis 461. Following a very warm welcome, we received a very detailed and enjoyable safety brief which seemed too settled us all down. This was then followed by a three coarse meal which would not have looked out of place in a 5 star restaurant and all cooked fresh on board by Richard, top quality. Day one, we awoke at 0730hrs to a freshly laid breakfast table with fresh fruit, cereal, tea and coffee, Kippers the whole nine yards. Again, after a small safety brief we were introduced to the boat and step by step shown the tasks we would need to carry out so as to sail, and once the tide was high we then set sail. We soon got stuck into it, changing sails and steering the yacht, with easily understandable instructions from Richard. The weather was perfect and the wind was kind to us, although whilst Richard stood quite content as the yacht angled nearer and nearer to 45 degrees we were like children in a sweet shop, beaming from ear to ear with a slight uncertainty of excitement, however once you realise you are in safe hands and this yacht is designed to do this, you really start to enjoy yourself. We practised Tacking which is where you sail against the wind in a zig zag manor. We finished day one by anchoring up along the magnificent Menai Straits and pumped up the dingy to go ashore to a local pub. Once refuelled, we headed back to the boat for more amazing food prepared by Richard. Day two, after a great nights sleep in the more than adequate sleeping areas, we set the breakfast table and got ready for another exciting day of sailing. Today was a more challenging day as the wind had really picked up. Richard had explained the position of the sails for the three sail positions we would need to adopt so as to carry out an Olympic Triangle. This included a wind across the starboard front called a Close Haul, and wind across the side called Beam Reach and a wind across the rear called Broad Reach. Although we made a couple of mistakes, Richard was very patient with us all and again we all got stuck in and enjoyed every minute. Once we arrived back to port, we assisted Richard with mooring up the yacht and then received our certificate for the first 2 days completed of our 5 day Competent Crew certification. As a crew of four, we have agreed to complete the last 3 days with Richard in November this year and hope to make these trips annually. Finally, we would like to thank Richard for this wonderful opportunity and his warm welcome, we really have made a friend for life, see you soon. Kind Regards Lee, Martin, Phil and Paul or is it Paul and Phil
4 June 2015Day Skipper
Many thanks to Richard for a great Day Skipper course. Fantastic boat with beautifully prepared food and fine wines . Very patient and very informative explanations made the learning process all that bit easier .
4 June 2015Day Skipper
Thank you Richard for a very enjoyable course, even in the gale force conditions, and the RYA fog. I am sure we will meet again. Jeff.
18 May 2015Start Yachting
Richard & Petra did a first class job of restoring my enthusiasm in sailing. We took in some of the incredible views of the Welsh coastline, including watching seals & wildlife in there natural habitat. Hospitality and food out of this world. Really good introduction to sailing and Looking forward to the next trip.
16 May 2015Day Skipper
What an exiting time we had on board the Celtic Star. It was an incredible learning experience Richards hospitality was second to none. The atmosphere on board was great and the food was sublime. Looking forward to next time. Ali&Amanda
15 May 2015RYA Competent Crew
Richard did a fantastic job completing the syllabus despite the gale force conditions and always had everything under control. Richard found some delightful sheltered anchorages, wondereful views and produced an amazing 3 course meal every night which included carefully selected wine. A really good course and a brilliant holiday all in one. Steve & Jacquie
14 May 2015RYA Competent Crew Course
Richard did a superb job at guiding us complete novices through the basics of sailing in less than ideal conditions. We learned a huge amount, always felt safe (even when it gusted Force 9) and appreciated the humor and wonderful cuisine. Anne, Rick & Margie
12 May 2015Coastal Skipper
If you want to learn to sail to a very high standard, have interesting passages on a superb, cosy yacht and end the day with excellent cuisine cooked and served by skip then Richard's your man! Off to Scotland next, on Celtic Star of course. Can't wait! Michael
28 April 2015Competent crew
If you want to learn to sail this is the man to go to. Could not have asked for a better instructor. Knowledgable, patient and tolerant (except when you wake him at 5,30 in the morning). The course was great fun and Packed with information both practical and theoretical. Food was brilliant. Boat well up to standard, a joy to sail and with Richard as Skipper safe as houses, John Banwell
27 April 2015RYA Day Skipper
Richard is a brilliant instructor with a wealth of knowledge and experience. There was lots of fun over the 5 days but also the emphasis on safety at sea is first class!! Celtic Star is very comfortable and a great boat to sail. The food and wine was a delight. I'll definitely be back. Damian McDonald
24 April 2015RYA Day Skipper
Richard was a fantastic instructor and made our course very enjoyable, even in the force 9 gale we caught, which was very exciting! The food was incredible to say the least and the areas in which we stayed each night were beautiful. To be honest you couldn't really ask for more, I'll definitely be back for more next year! Tom
13 April 2015Coastal Skipper
I've done all my training with Richard over the past half a dozen years because he is an expert, a great communicator and teacher (with a few sailors stories thrown in for colour) but also...and this is the clincher...he is a fantastic cook! Even in rough conditions we eat like we are in a five star hotel...so five stars from me every time. I'll be back in October and again in Spring next year. Christian Rogers
9 April 2015Easter Course/Cruise
Thanks Richard, for the great sailing and the lovely food! Dulcie
7 April 2015Easter Course/Cruise
Thank you Richard for an amazing Easter at sea, brilliant sailing tuition, fantastic food, a wonderful sail across the Irish Sea. Looking forward to sailing with you to see the fireworks in November. Angie and Bernard
7 April 2015Easter cruise
Great sailing instruction, great food, great company and great value for money. I will be back next year. Chris
16 March 2015weekend trip
Richard, Thanks for a great tour of the Island, for teaching loads, and for the delicious food! Oh, and the great company :) Rupert
29 August 2014RYA course
Our fifth trip with Richard, this time for Day Skipper, and again we had a fabulous time. Excellent instruction, as ever, well tailored for all on board and great confidence booster. Fantastic food, great stories and lots of fun. Already planning when we can fit in another trip! Many thanks Richard. Helen and Phil
14 August 2014Big Boat Experience Day
A super day in exhilarating conditions. My girls really enjoyed it especially Harriet who took to helming a 46ft boat with ease! Thank you Richard and Petra from Family Bowers
19 July 2014Classic Malts Cruise
A terrific experience from start to finish. Great sailing scenery, some fabulous mooring locations and not to forget the distilleries. Their delights complimented the great canapes and brilliant meals. Richard - Thank you. Peter Jubb.
16 July 2014Conwy to Clyde
Yet again, a wonderful weeks sailing with Richard. Wonderful weather, wonderful food, wonderful company. We never fail to be impressed whether cruising or on RYA courses. We will certainly return. Steve and Yvonne
8 May 2014Anglesey and Dublin Cruise
A really great long weekend with excellent instruction from Richard whose extensive nautical knowledge spreads to haute cuisine and good pub locations. Outstanding. Thank you very much. Martin Tomlinson
4 April 2014Spring Cruise
Many thanks for a great weekend, I really enjoyed it. Without doubt the best winter sailing that I have ever experienced. A warm cabin makes any passage better, add superb food and it becomes a delight. Ian Jenkinson
8 March 2014Day Skipper Course
That was, without doubt, the best course I have been on in many years. The levels of students' (learning needs) was accurately assessed and teaching appropriately tailored. The instruction was excellent in challenging conditions. Food Sublime. Thanks !!. Tim Benham
19 November 2013RYA Comp Crew
Hi Richard first let me say on behalf of my father & myself thank you very much for a great week. We could not have asked for more both in your sailing knowledge and hospitality.
29 October 2013RYA Day Skipper
Excellent instruction from Richard and with the confidence he gave me I was delighted to pass. The whole experience is superb, accommodation, yacht and especially the food. I will be returning in 2014 with my wife for more adventure and food.
28 October 2013Scottish Island Cruise
Richard is someone in whom I have complete trust at sea and he is always generous with his sailing (and culinary) expertise as much as his warm welcome. Where else can you learn about ColRegs and avocado & fish risotto over the same glass of Pinot?
21 October 2013RYA Course
Just like to say thanks for a great sail over the 5 days last week. Food and drink on board was excellent .Yacht was roomy and comfortable ,and it was great to get across to Ireland. Thanks for all your efforts making everyone welcome ,and making the trip enjoyable particularly liked your rabbit joke. Highlight was coming back to Deganwy in the force 9 ,for which I am eternally grateful that you were at the helm.
17 July 2013Inner Hebrides Malts Cruise
A great week away seeing some amazing scenery and drinking some even more amazing malts. Richard is providing a fantastic product that combines comfortable sailing, a bit of instruction (if/as required), interesting places to visit with beautiful scenery as well as some wonderful food and company. Thanks for a wonderful time, JD.
3 June 2013Puffins and Porpoise
Fantastic day, great food and great company! Will be back for sure.
11 April 2013RYA Courses
A fantastic experience. Learning whilst on board with a very experienced and competent skipper, who is also an excellent teacher. Accommodation good and food excellent! Highly recommended as either a learning experience or a break away from it all. Thanks to Richard and Petra for a great time!
24 August 2012RYA Courses
Richard was my instructor for RYA Day Skipper. He is a great teacher and real fun to sail with. All on the course had a fantastic week.
8 August 2012Irish Sea Cruises
Great trip - boat was very comfortable as was the company and Richard's cooking was excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed it and will be back next year
25 July 2012RYA Courses
I originally did my Day Skipper with Richard, was so impressed that I stayed in touch with him and took every opportunity to sail with him again, including taking my semi-disabled Dad out for his very first sailing experience. Richard is incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about sailing, a great teacher and can also cook a great range of complicated meals that shames my pasties and beans every time!
13 July 2012RYA Courses
Richard's easy style backed by his wealth of knowledge and experience helped put us at ease and made our Competent crew course a relaxed and rewarding time afloat. We're looking forward to our next RYA course with Richard.
4 July 2012The Inner Hebrides and Distilleries
Despite having no previous interest in sailing, the wife and I had a wonderful time; beautiful scenery, excellent food and truly wonderful host. Highly recommended.
1 July 2012RYA Courses
Richard Haig was my instructor on my RYA skippers course over a period of 6 days. His teaching skills were of a very high standard and used methods which help the students remember items easily. Also his knowledge, experence and passion for sailing made the course very enjoyable. Thanks Richard for the experence.
23 June 2012The Inner Hebrides and Distilleries
Richard perfectly organised this trip. Fab food and wine. wonderful scenery to sit and watch or the opportunity to help with the sailing. Lots of stops at local pubs, a restaurant (he deserves a break!) and famous whiskey distilleries. We were a mixed group on our trip but all got on like a house on fire. Thank you Richard for some great memories. Xx
23 June 2012RYA Courses
great teacher and great skipper, passed my yachmaster exam with his help and passed it with flying colors thanks to richard. would definitely recomend him as a skipper teacher or any other services that he provides. luke
23 June 2012RYA Courses
April 2012.Day skipper:- Beautiful boat; excellent instruction & fabulous food! Will certainly return to attend further courses cruises.
22 June 2012RYA Courses
What a wonderful time my son and I had doing our comp crew with Richard. And, compared to others who've been on different courses we learnt so much more! We are well and truly hooked and can't wait to do our day skipper - we wouldn't dream of doing it with anyone else! Great teacher, wonderful boat and the food is to die for. Thank you so much, Mandy and Andrew Mitten.
22 June 2012RYA Courses
Beautiful boat, excellent instruction & fabulous food! I highly recommend & look forward to returning for further courses. Stephanie. April 2012
22 June 2012RYA Courses
If you want the best then Richard is your man. If you've 'got it' then he will bring it out and make a sailor of you.
22 June 2012Irish Sea Cruises
We had a stonking few days on Celtic Star. Richards supreme expertise and intimate knowledge of the North Wales coast made it both enjoyable and instructive. Highly recommended.
22 June 2012RYA Courses
Richard is an excellent teacher for all levels and all ages (including difficult old men like me as well as absolute beginners like my 12 year old son who he has tutored up to Day Skipper level). Having lived aboard a yacht for a couple of years circumnavigating the globe there's not much he doesn't know and he has some good stories to tell along the way. a good teacher, good company (and a pretty good cook too!) - i'd recommend sailing with Richard
21 June 2012The Inner Hebrides and Distilleries
Superb week of sailing, hill walking, fantastic food, good company, amazing scenery and a few good whiskies. Looking forward to my next trip.